Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.   Cancer and Reproductive Harm- www.P65Warnings.ca.gov .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(681 Reviews) 681
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 681 reviews
5 Stars
544
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
25
1 Star
29
612 out of 679(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 221 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2010

silver tip

By
Location: basehor ks
Age: 46-55
good ammo kicks like a mule sounds like a cannon compared to other brands
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 222 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010

Winchester Silvertip (25/06)

By
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I recently purchased a box of the Winchester Supreme Silvertip (115gr) ammunition to use this year during hunting season. I produced as good or better groups at the range than the bonded ammunition I have used in previous years. I want to try this ammunition to see if it provides a more quick and humane kill. The bonded bullets I have used in the past with my 25/06 have penetrated completely through, leaving a small exit hole, making it hard to track by blood trail. The deer end up running on average 30 yards before collapsing, even when hit through the vitals. This has resulted in a nuisance in dense cover. So my objective is to find a bullet that expands a more rapidly, exerting most of the energy inside the deer, instead of exiting. I will report after hunting season with my results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 223 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2010

Browning 7 mag A bolt

By
Location: STKN, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
What can I say. Very impressed with this ammo over and over. I have taken numerous deer with this ammo ranging from 50 yds to 500. All one shot drop! Amazing performance and accuracy. I will shoot clovers at 100 yds. I can guarantee that I can hit a dime at 100 yds within 2 shots! I'm so confident I shot a deer in the dome last year! About 120 yds he was looking straight at me, I put my crosshairs right between his antlers on his forehead and pulled the trigger. Lights out for him!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 224 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2010

Great round

By
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have been shooting the 130gr. in .270 for about 5 years. I have killed 7 deer with them ranging from 40 yards to 360. The biggest of which field dressed 197 lbs. and was shot at 243 yards. Very accurate, and deadly on deer. Out of the 7 deer I have only gotten 2 exit holes, however only 1 of the 7 didn't drop on the spot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 225 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010

Winchester .338 Win Mag ammo

By
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Outstanding cartridge. Very accurate and flat shooting. At 328 tards we have one very dead Barren Ground Grizzly in interior Alaska, with two shots on the open tundra. Very impressive round.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 226 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2010

Thinned Skinned

By
Location: FLorida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
this is great ammo for thin skinned game. the 180gr in 325WSM and 300WM are a little disappointing. don't get nearly the penetration that you should be getting. winchester rates these rounds for thick skinned animals such as elk and moose in these particular cartridges. if you are going to hunt the bigger north american game go for the accubonds. however for the 30-06 these rounds are great. maybe the nosler ballistic tip just doesn't handle the magnum loads very well. they group very well in all 3 mentioned loads but the end result isn't what is advertised in the magnum loads. if you are hunting thinned skinned game in a non-magnum load then these are great. get a 5 star rating in standard cartridges and a 2 star rating in magnum loads. like i said though they fly great in all 3 cartridges i have used them in.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 227 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010

to many recalls

By
Location: georgia
at first didnt have any problems shot a deer dropped him had a 130 class 9 point walk up dropped him 2 but i noticed the the bullet exploded on impact and i couldve lost the deer. i was shooting a 150 grain 7mm and there is no excuse for that to happen not impressed not to mention cosstlyy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 228 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010

hogfinder

By
Location: Palm Bay Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This has to be the best, or the best I have used. I don't have any clue what else you could ask for in ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 229 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010

EXCELLANT

By
Location: KANSAS
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
EXCELLENT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 230 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010

Winchester Supreme® Ballistic Silvertip

By
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Excellent deal on quality ammunition. Close out price less then $1 a cartridge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 231 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010

Gets them every time

By
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been using Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertips for several years in my 7mm-08 and also in my .243. The bullet has never failed to provide me with the confidence of a quick harvest and easy recovery of any game I am hunting in Georgia (deer, hog, or coyote). The bullet maintains its integrity and leaves a great blood trail if the game doesn't fall in its tracks. I have taken several nice bucks (several are currently on my wall) and my young son has taken two bucks (6 and 7 pointers) with his .243. I recommend it to all of my hunting club members and will continue to purchase it myself. I see no need to reload when I can get something just as good right out of Cabela's and delivered to my door.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 232 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010

Killer Ammo!

By
Location: Manhattan, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This ammo is outstanding in the 95-gr .243 variety out of my Remington 700 VTR. I have successfully used it on deer, coyotes, groundhogs, and prairie dogs. It produces huge exit wounds on everything it hits and is more than sufficient for a big Kansas-sized deer. It also shoots flat and holds groups well enough that I have hit prairie dogs out to 262 yards. Great cartridge!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 233 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010

Ballistic Tips

By
Location: Coloraod
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
These rounds are VERY inconsistent - I tried them out of a 700 CDL in 300 WSM. I was on a Lead Sled @ 100 yards and these bullets won't hold better than a 3"-4" group. Maybe I got a bad batch of ammo. Same issue with a Browning 7mm. I tried Federals and Nosler Custom and they both worked great out of my gun. The Ballistic tips don't expand in an elk very well, either.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 234 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010

Ammo Review

By
Location: Chico, CA
I have a pre-'64 Winchester .270. I'm used to shooting M-16 A2s with open sights, and this was my first time zeroing in with a scoped rifle.
This is the only ammo I have ever shot out of the .270, and I chose it because I had read good reviews on it and the price was right. I shot 13 rounds, and the best I could do after adjusting the scope, was 3 rounds within a half dollar, 1in. above and to the left of the red dot on the target. My scope is maxed out on the windage, and because this is my first scoped rifle, I settled with that. I figure, from 100-350yds, I can get a clean shot at the kill zone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 235 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2010

Great power punch

By
Location: Nogales, Az.
this bullets have nothing to compare to the ones I used to use before I tried them out is worth they few dollars extra you paid for this ones.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 236 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010

very accurate

By
Location: Amherst & New Comerstown Ohio
very consistant ammo, 3 shot group @ 100 yards .567"
will use on deer later in the year, or if wood chuck shows up well see how it does on them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 237 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2010

Winhester BST

By
Location: Fort Stockton, Tx
I shoot a Rimington 700 in .270 cal and I used these and at 100 yards I can cover a 3 shot group with a dime and at 200 with a nickel. Best round I have ever shot out of this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 238 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010

270 WSM

By
Location: Salina, KS
I like the ballastic tip bullets. They have good long range trajectory, and I've never had any trouble taking down deer with them. If you shoot a short mag, Winchester's ammo is about $10 per box cheaper than Federal with the Nosler ballistic tip. Both are excellant cartridges, in my book. Since it's Winchester's cartridge, I suppose it should be cheaper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 239 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010

good ammo

By
Location: Western Oregon
i use these for deer they are accurate for factory loads and the bullets perform really well. they drop the animal fast but they blow apart so if you are one who likes weight retention dont use them. personally though weight retention doent matter when the animal goes down so fast. shot a buck at 300yards with these a couple years ago it didnt go more than 30yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 240 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2010

Only bullet i shoot

By
Location: Sparta,Ga
i have been shooting this ammo in a .270 remington model 700 for over 4 years and the only deer that has ran farther than 20 yards was a 8 point buck he ran about 400yrds and when we found hin we couldnt belive the exit hole it was the size of a football! we couldnt understand why he made it that far! other than that every deer me or my wife have shot useing this ammo when down where they where standing or less than 20 yrds away only word of advice try not to hit bone it will destroy the meat!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 221-240 of 472