Customer Reviews for Sage Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Sage Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods

Sage spent three years in its quest to take high-performance saltwater fly rods to a new level. Now, thanks to the Xi2 Series, you can concentrate on fishing rather than casting. Generation 5 technology makes Xi2 rods lighter and more responsive than their predecessors.Generation 5 Technology employs 100% graphite hoop fibers from the second through butt sections. For delicate tip sections, strength is maintained by precisely placing a limited number of glass fibers only on the inner part of the blank wall.Specially developed for this series, Sage's Modulus Positioning System varies the modulus ratings according to the needs of each inch of the rod. With this variation, they're able to maximize performance while radically reducing rod weight which gives you the enhanced ability to feel these rods load the line throughout the cast. You'll be able to apply power more efficiently, which results in tighter loops, longer casts and better performance in windy conditions. Also new are the lower-profile, oversized guides that allow the line to shoot through with minimal friction, as well as reel seats that resist the corrosive effects of saltwater.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Review 1 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2008

All Purpose Saltwater Rod

By
Location: Mission, KS
Light, smooth, and powerful with a soft tip. It is an absolute cannon in saltwater. I've landed snook, bonefish, permit, cuda, jacks, and sharks on my 9 wt. Casting a 9 wt. for 8 hours doesn't usually sound fun, but an XI2 is a pleasure for an extended period of time. I can't wait for next spring to get a 12 wt. for Tarpon...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2008

Best 12wt Ever!!

By
Location: South West Florida, 10,000 Islands
This is the best 12 wt. ever. It is light, responsive and easy to cast. You can throw this all day and you won't know it the next morning. Tarpon fishing in the back country will never quite be the same once you throw one of these!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2008

Best Fly Rod for Bones!

By
Location: Nashville, TN
I have owned an 8 wt Xi2 for 4 years, now. I have used it to throw big streamers on sinking line for trout; rabbit strip flies for bass, and shrimp flies for bonefish.
I've never had a rod that lets me FEEL the line load the rod tip like this one. At the same time, it has the backbone to land fish quickly.
I am going back to the Bahamas again soon and will buy another Xi2 for the trip. If you like to catch fish with a fly, this is the rod for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2007

Xi2 8wt

By
Location: Lansing, MI
I was looking for a steelhead rod to use for some very fast water that I regularly fish in the spring and to compliment my Everglades reel. After talking to guides, fly shop experts and the guys at Cabelas as well as casting many rods, I decided on the Xi2. Not only does this rod perfom exceptionally well in the spring but I have put it through the ringer on salmon in the fall. I have never fished saltwater but I now have a rig I can use for bones should I have the opportunity. I do not believe you can beat the Xi2.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2007

Sage Xi2 -- Best for salt and great for Bass

By
Location: Denver, Colorado
I have 17 Sage rods. My first good fly rod was a Sage in 1992 and I've been hooked since. I fish all over the world in fresh and salt waters, US, Asia, Europe, South America, and Australia.
My wife bought me a Sage Xi2 10 wt for my birthday just before a Texas bay water trip for Reds and Sea trout. Great rod. However, if the wind is light an 8 wt is perfect. So, I bought an 8 wt. Then for surf fishing I bought the 12 wt Xi2... the Xi2 10 and 12 wts are perfect for the surf and in windy conditions. You never know if you'll catch a red or a barracuda or shark or Jack or who knows what in the surf. So, I always use the 10 or 12.
When I started fishing off shore, I bought what... you guessed it, a Sage Xi2 14 wt. A real broom handle of a rod, but it will take on anything you hook into. Works great for big fighting salt water fish... Tuna, Bill fish, Wahoo, Barracuda, and even small stuff is fun. With that rod I have established two Texas Salt Water state fishing records, one with the fly rod for all rod and reel types and the other for fly fishing only. Cool stuff.
Then I bought a 6wt for bass fishing and it's perfecto.
You can not miss with a Sage Xi2.
Buy one and have a blast!!!
If you have never fished in the Salt Water... Try it, but be ready to have the time of your life. There is nothing to compare. On fresh water you typically know what you are going to catch and what type of experience to expect, which is great. However, in the Salt Water, you never know what you are hooking into, everything small to big is a preditor, fights hard, and strips you into your backing immediately. Then hold on... you are always in for a fight, it's just a matter of how long the fight will last. Find a school of feeding fish and you will catch non-stop for a couple hours. We have changed spots when we were in feeding schools only to force ourselves to take a much needed break. It's Fantastic Fun!!! Especially with great equipment such as the Sage Xi2.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

sage xi2 fly rod

By
Best fly rod i ever owned.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater F

By
Location: Baldwinsville, NY
I have the 9wt and use it for stipers on the cape. I fish large flats which requires long casts and subtle presentations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sage Xi2 Series Ultra-High Performance Saltwater Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2006

SAGE Xi2 Fly Rod

By
Location: South Texas
After fishing both the Xi2 8wt and 10wt rods over the past two years, it is safe to state that there is not a better saltwater rod on the market today. The 8wt works great on redfish, snook, speckled trout, and bonefish. It is also a great steelhead and bass rod. The 10wt is a great rod for jacks, permit, and average sized tarpon. The Xi2 is one of the lightest rod that I have ever handled. The rod also handles stiff winds like a knife through butter and its lifting power is outstanding.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.