Customer Reviews for TACKLE 2000 Rocket Bobbers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

TACKLE 2000 Rocket Bobbers

The farthest-flying, most-sensitive bobber of its kind. Aerodynamic design allows you to get your bait out where the fish are. It flies tip first through the air for better accuracy. Bobber lies flat on the water - you’ll know you have a strike when it begins to stand up. Can be fished vertically by adding weight to your rig. Two halves are sonic-welded for maximum strength. Built-in hook remover. Per 2. Sizes: Medium Jr., Large.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocket Bobbers
Review 1 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2009

Rocket Bobbers are the best!!!!!!

By
Location: Hartford, CT
I found these in Minnesota 10 years ago and they are awesome. They are so easy to use that my 4 year old used it easily. It is great for kids! I moved to CT and cannot find them anywhere. Now I can!! I'll have 20 please. They are great for sunnies with the kids as well as walleye, crappie, bass, ect........ They cast very well and adds enough weight to get it where you want it. There is also a setting to use slip bobbers with it. ie walleye. One draw back, There is only one size. not able to float with (bigger baits) 1.5 oz weight and bait. to heavy. Please make bigger one's. I strongly reccomend these bobbers for fishing anytime of year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2009

Best bobber ever

By
Location: Michigan
Well its about time cabalas got these in. Anyway these are by far some of the best bobbers ive ever used. First of you can cast them farther then any other bobber ive used. Second these bobbers are the only bobber ive seen that can detect the lightest bites from fish, the key is to wrap your line around the small metal loop of the bobber twice then close it, use NO split shot and a small ice fishing jig for a hook, put bait on and your ready to go. For crappie do the same thing as previsly said to the bobber but add a very small split shot and a small hook. With this rig you cant go wrong if they hit it you got them. What makes this bobber different is when used how i said it lays on its side and as the fish picks it up the smallest amount of weight moves the top of the bobber out the water. If it starts to move up set the hook and there you go fish on =) good luck and hope this helps everybody get the most out of there rocket bobbers. The bobbers also come in two sizes and glow in the dark models so cabelas if you dont have the glow in the dark ones you should get them.
peace, MST
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009

rocket bobbers

By
Location: penna.
the bobbers worked as advertised,having a choice of two colors lets you choose which one is best for visability on any particular day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009

AS A SLIP BOBBER GREAT DISTANCE

By
Location: PA
YOU WILLL BE ABLE TO CAST "A COUNTRY MILE" WITH THE LARGE SIZE. WITH A WEIGHT OF 4/10 OF A OUNCE WHEN YOU RIG IT AS A SLIP BOBBER YOU HAVE THE EXTRA WEIGHT DOWN LOW SO YOU CAN CAST YOU RIG WITH A MINNOW OR WORM AND THET WILL STAY ON. THIS IS ONE GREAT PRODUCT !!!!! BAR NONE.............
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2009

sweet bobbers!

By
I first found out about these bobbers when there was this guy fishing next to me on a dock. I just had to get me some. You can tell the littlest of bites. the work great on bluegill, crappie, bass perch, etc. using them as a slip bobbetr works great. I usea plain old 1/16 ounce jig with a leech and be prepared to get a bite!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2010

Best and easiest to use bobber on the market

By
Location: Upper MI
I owned a bait, tackle, gun shop in the 90's.A Guy used to stop in with these bobbers, wanting me to carry them. I tried one
myself and after that ordered box after box. He used to sell them by the individual bobber. These can be used in a variety
of ways. They cast like a rocket, getting good distance. They are really unbreakable. I hit many rocks with them. Winds hardley effect them. They are easy to see in the water. I was really surprised and happy to see Cabela's carry them. Great for Walleye, bass, crappie, all kinds of species. You just hook them on to your line and move them easily when changing depth. Forget bobber stops! I really can't say enough positives on this product, except order them. You will never use another type bobber. I ordered ten a few weeks ago, I do recommend the larger size as they can be used for bluegill and smaller fish as well as the bigger ones, just rigged a little different.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2011

Simply the best

By
Location: North Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This float is perfect for crappie. I fish North Idaho lakes for crappie and I prefer to use a light 1/32 oz jig. The junior bobber lays perfectly on its side until a crappie picks up the jig. Even with the slightest take the bobber will stand straight up. I outfish others five to one when using this bobber. It casts like a rocket too! It's kind of expensive, but it's the best bobber out there hands down. Don't buy the cheap coppies because they won't grip your line right and will slip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2012

Rocket Bobber

By
I don't like spinning reels, so I was using a 1/4 egg sinker and a thill float to fish live bait with my baitcaster. These rocket bobbers are very deceptive, when I picked one up they seemed so light I thought I could never throw one. But they are some how areornamically designed so you can easily cast them with a baitcaster if that's the way you want to do it. I'm sure most users use spinning reels.
They make two sizes. Not sure why anyone would want to use the smaller panfish size. My guess is people just thought the now what they call "game fish" 6 1/4 inch was too big for crappie and bluegill. On the contrary, the large size is just perfect for throwing an unweighted hook or a 1/32 oz jig.
It is designed to lay flat on the water, and you set the hook as soon as it stands up.
They claim it is also a slip float,but other than casting weight I see no advantage and some disadvantage to using them that way due to the conventional spring hook you would need to thread your line through. And then you need enough weight to get them to stand upright so what's the point?
I would highly reccommend the 6 1/4 inch game fish (or large size) for crappie and bluegill. Not sure what else you would ever bobber fish for. Maybe the smaller 4 3/4 inch would be ok if you were fishing a small pond and worried about the splash spooking the fish. But if you try them both, I think you will prefer the large size.
My favorite setup is a rocket bobber a snap swivel and a snelled hook with live bait. (and like I said, I throw that all on a baitcasting reel.)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2012

Not worth it

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
The best advantage of this bobber is that you can cast it a mile. Besides that, it's pretty underwhelming; the bobber doesn't stay on the line well and it really creates a lot of twist and "nicks" in the line.
My recommendation: just stick with small slip-float bobbers; they are cheaper and obviously create no problems with your line. Casting shouldn't be a problem if you're running a setup that is meant for panfish and small/medium-sized freshwater gamefish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

Rocket Bobber

By
The bobber allowed me to cast where others couldn't. Thus I limited out on rainbow trout while other fisherman caught nothing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

No Big Deal

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been using Thill Bobbers for years. Yes, the Rocket Bobber will cast farther because it is heavier. And yes I do like the hook that holds my line rather than the spring. But a Thill slip bobber is still the best, plus there is no rattle in it. I feel like I am fishing with a baby rattle when fishing with a Rocket Bobber. I can make a Thill weightless bobber also lay flat on the water and act just like a Rocket Bobber. It's all in your set up.
The Rocket Bobber is a gimmick. I returned both of mine and bought Thill's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocket Bobbers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015

Use for many applications

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Don't let the size and weight fool you. I have the panfish sized bobbers which seem quite large but I am amazed at just how sensitive they are to lite biters. The extra weight allows you to toss your line a long distance if need be, and the matte color allows you to see your bobber a ways off which is something I have always had difficulty doing. I have not tried the integrated slip float feature yet but intend to do so.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.