Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'

Quite possibly the simplest design among quality tents today. Camping with the Outback Lodge ends the hassle of fighting with cumbersome pole sets. Setting up this 8-person Outback Lodge tent is as simple as (1) staking out the corners, (2) raising the single center pole and four internal corner poles, then (3) securing the guy lines. That's it; camp is made. You can even leave the center pole at home and simply hang the center peak of the tent from a limb for a lightweight spike camp. Walls are constructed of 190T nylon taffeta treated with a 1,500mm polyurethane waterproof-rated coating. The long-wearing floor is constructed of 210-denier oxford nylon. Double-pull zip-close door with zippered No-See-Um mesh panel. Three No-See-Um mesh windows, two new mesh-screen vents near the top and newly redesigned ventilation panels on the sidewalls reduce condensation. Plenty of headroom adds an extra measure of comfort. Stakes and stuff bag included. Optional floor liner for easy cleanup and extended floor life. Imported. Floor dimensions: 12' x 12'.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 315 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
85
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
11
1 Star
10
286 out of 315(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Review 21 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Best Fam Damnily Tent Ever

By
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
After years of using cabin tents, and not enjoying them much, I tossed my last one away after severe leakage involving rain, wind and unhappy children.
Turning to Cabelas, I sought roominess, simplicity and durability.
The 12x12 Outback Lodge Tent fits in most public campsites' tent footprints, unlike most cabin tents. Its spacious 9' height gives me, a handsome 6 footer, plenty of room to stand tall when moving about. And talk about roominess! We had all the space we needed for two queen sized inflated mattresses and all our gear. Unheard of!
As for simplicity, allow me to illustrate: 4 corners, 5 poles (4 tiny ones), a few guylines and BAM! I'm done and gone fishin'.
Let's talk about durability, y'all. The first trip it did everything but snowed on us; wind, rain, hail, bear attack (ok, that last one isn't true), but we remained cozy. Buy the floor liner and I'll bet this tent will last you 20 years of regular use.
I'm hard to please when it comes to my gear. I don't care for expensive, but I like quality. This tent has a working man's price and you get your money's worth.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Outback Lodge Tent.

By
Location: Mountains of Ca
This a great tent! Very nice to be in this tent when the weather outside is bad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

A tent in the morning is a good thing

By
Location: Ft. Knox area of Kentucky--Unbridled Spirit
I am a member in good standing of the KGB(Kentucky Good o'l Boys)
There are 7 of us that use the Lodge Pole Tent during our annual deer camp. To the man, we are all pleased with the ease of assembly, space available, portability, and recovery of this piece of equipment. All but one is a former US Army soldier with 96 years of combined experience deploying to and recovering from the field. We have all commented on how we wished we had this item as part of our standard issue. It is light yet durable, repels rain well, and gives the user a choice of maximum screened ventilation, or complete "button down" capability. Last year we had a very bad storm blow through our camp, and four guys that had this tent at that time, were the only ones who's "hootch" was not only left standing, but all the equipment inside was high and dry. The other three guys(me being one), ensured we were equipt the same this year. If the tent would have put itself up when I whistled, I would have rated it at 5 stars, being the hard critic that I am. I highly recommend this item.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

Cabela's Outback lodge tent

By
Location: Loc: Coos Bay, Oregon - Hunt - AK, MT, ID, OR, NWT
I purchased the 12 x 12 Outback lodge tent for the space for 2 - 3 people w/o being crowded and the light weight to take on bush planes. It was easy to set up w/o the instructions (which I did not read) that were included. Surprisingly, upon take down, it fits back into the bag! Excellent rain resistance. It could be improved by adding a rain fly over the entry door and a stove hole and a protective area of approx 5 feet square for spark protection. Overall, a great tent for Alaska.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

Great tent!

By
Location: Mountains of Montana
This tent was extremely easy to put up and take down. It was even easy to put back in the back! I love this tent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2006

Outback Lodge Tent

By
Location: Texas
I bought the 12 by 12 and it has lived up to all of my expectations. It does require alot of tent stakes which can take some time to set up. It helps to have two people. We are using it at our deer camp this season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006

Outdoor Living In The Cabelas OutBack Lodge Tent

By
Location: Big Bear City, CA
At first I was reluctlant to purchase the Cabelas Outback Lodge Tent. But I am glad I did. Not only is it so easy for one person to set this tent up but so quick to set up as well.
I am also amazed at the amount of room I have in this tent. Iam also impressed about how easy it is to break down and the ease of storage in a small duffle bag.
Every year in October I and my friends go to a place in the Desert where the weather is unpredictable especially the extreme amount of wind, rain and heat. In my Cabelas Outback Lodge Tent I do not have a worry at all what the weather will bring us because it has held up very well.
I can tell how well this tent was constructed just by looking at the material and the stitching. The price is really right for what you recieve. I almost feel guilty for getting such a good tent for such a reasonable price.
I am looking forward to using this tent over and over again in the camping adventures that are yet to continue in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2006

out backlodge tent

By
Location: Southwest Alaska
I wasn't statisfied with this tent out in the alaskan bush mainly where i'm located. I had problems with moisture build up on the walls during those cold evenings and mornings.
The time I spend putting this tent up is rediculous. I felt like a spider making a web placing all them strings/stakes in the ground !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2006

Home away from home!

By
Location: Manning, Alberta
I was in the search for a high quality tent to serve me and my hunting clients well as a spike camp away from the main lodge. The Outback Lodge makes a perfect, simple set-up, spacious backwoods camp. It has held up without fail in winds, rain, and snow, and does it all in a very handy well designed package.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2007

Outback lodge tent is worth it's weight in gold!

By
Location: ocoee, fl
I have owned the 12x12 for about a year. I've been camping for years with a group of buddies on a island on the st.johns river. My buddies were amazed at how quick and easy set up and take down is. The outback has stood up to heavy winds and rain , where some of my buddies tents have been blown over. It's a great tent and I am the envy of camp now .They all swear when their tents wear out the will purchase the outback.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2007

Outback Lodge Tent

By
Location: Dandridge, TN
Our family loves this 8 person tent. We have used it in every season from single digits to 90 degrees and it has been great.
Our family of 5 has plenty of room for our gear and sleeping area. During rain, it is awesome for playing uno and board games inside.
The only drawback, rain and snow comes inside when you unzip the door to enter/exit. It really needs a vestibule.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2007

Great Tent!

By
Location: Oklahoma
I just returned from six nights on Padre Island National Seashore in this tent. Setup was a breeze (even in 15+ mph winds). I was impressed with the overall quality of this tent. Even the stakes that come with it are high quality! There are a lot of guy lines. That is a good thing in 15-30mph winds. Several other tents in the campgraound were flattened by the wind. This one stood strong. Any ventalation issues that may have existed in the past have been fixed. there is good lower ventalation and upper vents on all four sides! I highly recomend this tent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2007

GREAT BUT NEEDS SOME WORK

By
Location: PHOENIX, AZ
WHEN I BOUGHT THIS TENT. I MADE A RIGHT CHOICE VERY EASY TO SET IT UP. AND PLENTY OF ROOM BUT THE ONLY THING THAT NEEDS TO MAKE A PERFECT, TENT IS AN AWNING SO WATER WONT GO IN WHEN IT RAINS. OTHER THAN THAT A GOOD TENT TO PURCHASE.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2007

AWESOME TENT

By
Location: BENSALEM, PA
BUY IT. IT`S AN AWESOME TENT. EASY UP AND EASY DOWN. THE ZIPPER ON THE DOOR GETS STUCK ON THE ZIPPER FLAPS SOMETIMES, BUT IF YOU TAKE YOUR TIME IT`S NO PROBLEM. BUY IT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2007

outback tent

By
Location: nm
i have 2 outback tents, the 8x8 and 12x12. they are very good
in the wind and storms. easy to put up and take down. my only complaint would be the door zipper. i think it should have a heavier zipper with less nylon flaps along the zipper to snag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2007

outback tent

By
Location: I am from Montana and am a avid outdoorsman
On a recent float trip I used the outback 10x10 tent and it performed excelant. The only thing I would have done differant that is I wish I had purchased the 12x12 for my personal needs otherwise it was perfect lightweight and waterproff. I also have a Alaknak 12x12 but it is not as versible as this outback which is easier to set up and lighter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2007

Great Hunting Tent for 1

By
Location: Anchorage, AK
I bought the 10 X 10 version of this tent and it has been a reliable place to lay my head down after a long day stalking big game through the mountains.
The tent is a bit cozy for the 6 people it says it can hold. I had 4 of us in sleeping bags hunting caribou in Alaska and it was extremely crowded.
It is a perfect tent for one with outfitter cot, small table, and room for the loo in the other corner.
This tent is extremely easy to set up. It takes me about 15 minutes by myself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2007

Door zipper

By
Location: IN.
The only fault I have with the tent is the door zipper keeps getting hug up on the small rain flap when openig and closing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2007

NEED HEAD ROOM

By
Location: Coventry, CT
This tent sets up fast (1st time did it in 15 min alone)
Have a 10'X10' use it for two, lots of room for cots and gear.
have had it out in heavy rain 40mph winds held up well.
Lots of tent stakes and guide lines, but you get use to them.
Good vents, if use properly condensation should not be a ploblem in cold weather. love the head room, "GREAT TENT"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2007

Outback lodge

By
Location: missouri
I am a park ranger working in southern misouri, and purchased the outback lodge to live in for a summer. The tent is easily assembled with one person, and takes about 10-20 minutes (if you stake all the guy wires). All the guy wires do not have to be staked out, but help with ventilation and durability in wind. The ventilation works great during heavy rain, and i received no condensation build up. To prevent condensation, you have to keep the vents open!! As for the zipper on the door, it is a litle tricky to kep it from snagging on the fly, but if you unzip it slowly it is usually not a problem. I practically live in a tent through the summer seasons, and this tent has been one that i am most satisfied with compared to the price I payed for it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 315