Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'

Quite possibly the simplest design among quality tents today. Camping with the Outback Lodge ends the hassle of fighting with cumbersome pole sets. Setting up this 8-person Outback Lodge tent is as simple as (1) staking out the corners, (2) raising the single center pole and four internal corner poles, then (3) securing the guy lines. That's it; camp is made. You can even leave the center pole at home and simply hang the center peak of the tent from a limb for a lightweight spike camp. Walls are constructed of 190T nylon taffeta treated with a 1,500mm polyurethane waterproof-rated coating. The long-wearing floor is constructed of 210-denier oxford nylon. Double-pull zip-close door with zippered No-See-Um mesh panel. Three No-See-Um mesh windows, two new mesh-screen vents near the top and newly redesigned ventilation panels on the sidewalls reduce condensation. Plenty of headroom adds an extra measure of comfort. Stakes and stuff bag included. Optional floor liner for easy cleanup and extended floor life. Imported. Floor dimensions: 12' x 12'.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 315 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
85
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
11
1 Star
10
286 out of 315(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Review 41 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2007

12 x 12 Lodge Tent

By
I just used the 12 x 12 tent for an extended Memorial day campout. Held up great to some strong wind. Ventilation was great. No condensation. The only downside is the zipper for the door. The zipper constantly snags the fabric when opening or closing the door.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2007

Lodge Tent

By
Location: Texas
Great quality! 10 x 10 has enough room for three full size cots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2007

purchaser

By
Location: Anaconda, MT
This tent performed flawlessly. When I first assembled it I found it very easy. However, two days before the big memorial day weekend southwest montana got hit with 14 inches of snow. When I approached the tent the center pole was folded up from the weight. The good thing was the tent itself didn't rip. We taped the pole up and used it the rest of the weekend. It kept everything inside dry. So now I have to get a new center pole but other than that this was another great purchase from cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2007

very nice tent

By
Location: ohio
this is a very easy too assemble tent that it roomey and waterpoof! if you want an awsome tent this is the one too get!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2007

Very Satisfied

By
Location: Casper, WY
I've had the tent for a couple of months and have lived in it the whole time. I am very satisfied with the quality and durability of it. It has withstood some pretty sever weather already. Living in Wyoming it has stood up to an unusually wet spring and not so unusual, some very high winds. Thanks Cabelas!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2007

Great Tent - Poor Zipper

By
Location: Minnesota
I purchased the 12x12 Outback Lodge Tent and love the size and the easy set up and take down. The only draw back I see as many others have said is that the zipper gets caught in the rain fly (often) and you need to be patient when closing and opening the tent.
Love the tent, but pian in the butt zipper!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2007

Outback Lodge Tent

By
Location: Louisiana
Set up is fast and easy. Could set up in the dark in a thunderstorm solo. Good ventilation, and head room. Only problem encountered was tent stake extraction in hard pan; several stakes lost their hooks and had to be replaced. Overall, very satisfied.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2007

Outback Lodge

By
Location: Dalhart, TX
I do lots of camping, but when I saw the Cabela's Outback Lodge tent, I thought it would be perfect for an outdoor gym. I got the 12x12 and ground cloth, and put it up by myself, and secured all the guy ropes. It is perfect! I have my weight bench, free weights, and bowflex in it, and there is still plenty of room for several cots and chairs. It was a great way to free up my spare bedroom for more space. Great tent, and the best I could find for wind and rain resistance. I haven't had much problem with the zippers either.
Judy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2007

Better off to spend more money

By
Location: Southwest Alaska
I have had this tent a little over a year. I bought the 8x8 for its size and price, and the quality for the price is pretty good. The design, however, is lacking. I knew the door would take water in the rain with no vestibule, but made the trade-off for the price. The poles are very easy to deal with, but the number of stakes required is embarrassing. Unless the windows are left open - not too practical when raining - hugh amounts of moisture builds up inside in spite of the vents. When the tent is wet, the wall below the door collapses regardless of stake or guy wire placement.
The real problem, though, is here in southwest Alaska bears in camp is almost nightly when the salmon are in the rivers and lakes, and I cannot get out of the tent when the dogs sound off! People are right, the door zipper is only moderately infuriating when you take your time, but try getting out with a guide gun in one hand and your other shaking from the maniacal dogs jarring you from your dreams.
I have now relegated it to car camping on the road system, where it is safely 350 air miles from me and my pocket knife (which is just how I would get out if this happened again) eleven-and-a-half months a year. I am much happier now with my Cabala's Alaskan Guide Model Tent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2007

12 x 12

By
Location: Northern WI
I recently returned from a 5 day fishing trip with the 12 x 12
and absolutely love this tent. I had 3 cots plus our gear and had plenty of room for another cot. All of our gear had to be transported in my 14 ft boat so the pack size worked great. We had temps ranging from the mid 40's to about 80 with wind
and rain and the tent really held up great. The ventilation works very well to keep a steady flow of air inside. We used a ground cloth as well as the floor liner that helped out alot. I would recommend picking up a couple of center pole holders to hang a lantern. I will use this tent for deer hunting as well now that I know how comfortable it is. Great Design.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2007

Week in Mountains

By
Used tent for full week in mountains, worked very well all weathers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2007

OutBack Lodge

By
Location: Arizona
I've had my 12'x12' Outback lodge for 2 seasons now and have been on 2 Elk hunts and 2 Javie/Desert Mulie hunts with it. It has served me well through monsoon storms and whipping winds in the AZ September highcountry as well as cold windy desert hunting in January. This is a great product and I look forward to using it for years to come...... Terry
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2007

Out Back Lodge Tent

By
Location: Vt.
Easy set up. Best tent I've used in years. Still dry after a week of rain.
A more pronounced center poll mark on the floor would make it easer when the Floor liner is installed.
The addition of a rain fly over the door would go a long ways in keeping things dry when the door is opened.
Great tent. Keep up the good work.
*** Overall rating is 5 Stars
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2007

Love this tent!

By
Location: Hershey, PA
I neglected to apply the seam seal, just forgot all about it. But this tent rode out a dandy thunderstorm on the lakefront by Ohio's Lake Erie, fierce winds and rain. Not a single drop of water got into the tent, it was sturdy and stable in all that wind.
While it is a bit of a pain to set up all those guy lines and stakes, it was very nice to be sitting inside the tent, nice and dry, but still have ventilation. Unlike our neighbors sitting in their airless dome tent. It's roomy, the 10 x 10 was quite comfortable with two twin air mattresses, a table, two very large duffel bags, lanterns etc. When the storm blew in, we took our chairs inside and waited out the storm in reasonable comfort.
The only two problems: we had a lot of trouble with the zipper catching in one of the flaps (we think adjusting the tension in the guy lines may be the answer) and the stakes are pretty lousy. This is a wonderful tent but get some good tent stakes because the ones that come with the tent will bend and break.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2007

Outback Lodge 12x12

By
Location: Adirondacks of NYS
I purchased this tent a few years ago and have used it to pack a few miles in the Adkirondack Mountains of NYS. There are usually three of us so everything is packed in without killing ourselves. One October Muzzelaoder hunt, it rained all day and hard. Luckily we were able to set the tent up prior to it raining, however it didnt take long before the tent started to leak..I had used seam sealer and two applications of a tent waterproofer too! I was very dissatisified with the tent..The next year I used it on a November rifle hunt. Luckily we didnt have any rain and overall the three of us with all of our gear it worked out well. I purchased a sheepherders stove and and had a local appolestry guy put in a mylar patch and stove jack..So we heat the tent now..It heats well, but you have to leave at least one window open half way in order to get a decent draft.
Overall, I should have invested more money into a kifaru tipi if I wanted to go light, or, I would have purchased the Deluxe Alkanak tent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2007

Outback Lodge

By
Location: New Mexico
So I told my wife I had ordered a new tent, she was excited; I told my wife how much it cost, she was skepticle. Well we were excited for it to come in and could not wait to get out and try it. The week it came in we were only going to be able to try it for two nights. So we headed up to one of our favorite spots to fish and camp. We laid out the tent and my wife said that "if nothing else it's pretty." Well we began set up, WOW it was easy. Everything was simple, my wife could not believe how quickly it was up. My daughter helped with ALL the guy lines, with all these lines this tent is not going anywhere. Well after it was up we walked in and stood up, there was so much room, we have the 10x10, 2 adults, 2 kids (my son is 13, my daughter is 11), 3 dogs (1 lab, 2 poodles) plus stuff. There was more than enough room for all of us and our gear. My wife was extremely pleased, after the first night I asked how she slept she said "Like we stayed at the Hampton Inn". I am very pleased with this tent and will be ordering the floor liner that I previously passed up, with that liner this tent should last many years. The only complaint, hopefully, Cabela's will rectify it as it is a common complaint, is the zipper on door. I would rate it 5 stars but that would mean there is no room for improvement and the zipper can be improved.Overall I say this is an awesome tent. Thank you Cabela's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2007

Out Back Lodge Tent

By
Location: Ohio
We have the 10' x 10' Lots of room for two double air beds four people comfortably 6 people if they are extremely friendly. Zipper is not as bad as some of the reviews it will hang up a bit but in the same spots pay attention and you can easily over come the hang ups. Really not a big deal. Ventilation is good we had a lot of rain very little condensation and no leaks. With all the guy lines and stakes this tent will stay up in big winds. We like it and it will serve our tent needs perfectly. First time putting it up was about 45 min. Second time was about 30 min. I was in no rush and wanted it to be perfect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2007

Cabela's Outback Lodge

By
Location: California and Alaska
Although I returned the tent, I was well pleased with it's room and height and the way it squared up. The reason I returned the tent was the 25 stakes and space requred for set up. Even though it was very easy to set up, my 10'X10' tent required at least a 20'X 20' space, and that is not always available in the areas I hunt, fish or camp.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2007

Great tent- only one small complaint

By
Location: Dayton, OH
This is a great tent. I bought it for a family trip and it worked out perfectly. Easy to set up. Room enough for one queen size mattress, and two twins. The 9 ft ceiling is wonderful. Proper use of the vents kept it from any serious moisture problem. My only issue is with the zippers. They work fine, but the zipper keeps getting caught in the tent material and hanging up on the rain shileds at the end of each run. As long as care is taken opening and closing, it should be ok. Overall, a great tent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2007

Great in the bush type gear

By
Location: RANGER, Mt Monadnock St Park, NH
This light wieght tent is excellent for use when going into the back country. It is easy to set up and take down. The design is such that no fly is needed. There is a zipper problem that mfg should address but any capable outdoorsman/woman can figure it out. The zipper is sewn close to the nylon fabric and can catch the fabric - simply tape or glue back the fold of fabric a little and it works find. Properly closed there is no leakage and the vents circulate air well. Stand up room is great, center pole is helpful in getting out of bed and hanging gear. The 10 X 10 is more like a standard twelve by twelve due to the high side walls. I have used for the first thirty days in Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont on ocean front, lake front/canoeing and mountain with complete satisfaction. Suggest changing some stakes, not all, to lighter wieght plastic or aluminum to reduce carrying wieght. Looking forward to taking to native ceremonies in Canada.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 315