Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'

Quite possibly the simplest design among quality tents today. Camping with the Outback Lodge ends the hassle of fighting with cumbersome pole sets. Setting up this 8-person Outback Lodge tent is as simple as (1) staking out the corners, (2) raising the single center pole and four internal corner poles, then (3) securing the guy lines. That's it; camp is made. You can even leave the center pole at home and simply hang the center peak of the tent from a limb for a lightweight spike camp. Walls are constructed of 190T nylon taffeta treated with a 1,500mm polyurethane waterproof-rated coating. The long-wearing floor is constructed of 210-denier oxford nylon. Double-pull zip-close door with zippered No-See-Um mesh panel. Three No-See-Um mesh windows, two new mesh-screen vents near the top and newly redesigned ventilation panels on the sidewalls reduce condensation. Plenty of headroom adds an extra measure of comfort. Stakes and stuff bag included. Optional floor liner for easy cleanup and extended floor life. Imported. Floor dimensions: 12' x 12'.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 315 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
85
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
11
1 Star
10
286 out of 315(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Review 61 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2007

Great bang for the buck!

By
Location: Washington
I first bought the 10x10..it was simple and fast to set up. My 5'5" 120lb wife set up most of it with minimal help. Yes there were a few guide lines to pound in but not a real tough job..very quick and straight forward. I bought this for Early Elk(Bowhunter) With two large sized cots the 10 X 10 was cramped. It would be ok for one but I exchanged for the 12 by 12. During the night the zipper as mentioned by many others became a pain in the...well you have to get on your hands and knees in the middle of the night to get the zipper moving away from the floor as it gets caught in the fabric. I would have rated it with a 5 had it not been for the zipper issue and yes it can be an issue. With care from the outside it is manageble but from the inside it can be frustrating to say the least! It should have been a double zipper anyway. This product has been out for a while and Cabela's should address this zipper issue! The vents are more than adequate..the upper vents have a stiffener that keeps them wide open that I didnt notice at first(not in the directions). The lower vents are real good but on a cold windy night they are a bit drafty. The velcro closures are insufficient to stop the inrush of more cold air than is needed. That however is nothing that cant be modified with a needle and thread. I am 6'3" and the headroom is awesome. All in all a great tent for the price. Good sized bag as well..buy it!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2007

Outback Lodge

By
Location: western Colorado
Bought the smallest model--its smaller than I expected, but great for a one person extended stay, two people for a couple days. Tent was exposed to heavy storms and held up well, no leaks. I can echo previous review comments on bad zipper design. Its problematic--sticks in fabric very easily-- and only gets slightly better with practice. Its the only flaw in a great design, but a serious one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2007

Great Tent

By
Location: Calif.
We used this tent on the Oregon coast for 12 days. It rained on 6 of those days. The tent functioned well with out any leak problems. It was critical to seal the seams with the included seam sealer prior to the rain.
The new improved vent system worked well for us. Little to no dampness on the inside of the tent. One night my son closed some of the vents and that was when we had a small issue. We learned to keep them fully open due to the warm temperatures and rain.
We have the 10X10 model. You need to remember that all of the guide lines make the foot print much bigger. As for set up issues that some complained of, we found it quite easy as long as you had plenty of room for the guide lines and the ground was not too hard.
I am happy with this tent and would buy it again!
Thank you Cabelas for a great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2007

Outback Lodge Tent

By
Location: Houston, Texas
Not a bad tent. My main recommendation is to buy one size bigger. I have the 8 X 8 and wish I had more room. I use it for spur of the moment State Park visits and fishing trips. No room for cots. One person on each side of the center pole. My dog, a pretty big boxer, fits behind the center pole at the back of the tent.
For a two day trip, it works, even in winter in colder country. Just pile on more blankets.
Like I said, buy the bigger tent. Get off the ground.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2007

Outback Lodge tent

By
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
We were camped on the banks of the Athabaska river in Alberta Canada. The rain started around noon and never stopped for almost 24 hours. The tent kept me dry and comfortable the whole time. The only downfall is the zipper on the door. 9 out of 10 times opening the door, it would bind. Also, something so simple as a fly over the door would make things a little better yet, as water tends to drip into your tent when you do finally get the zipper open. All in all, a good buy. Lots of room to get comfy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2007

Nice tent

By
Location: Granite Falls WA
Nice tent, cheesy stakes, easy enough fixed for pretty cheap. Hard to beat for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2007

outback tent

By
Location: Bend, Oegon
This tent will take the wind and the rain in fine style. It is important to peg the tent following the lines of the "square" of the tent body to prevent twisting. I use a extra floor liner underneath the test for added protection on rocky ground.
The venting system keeps moisture a a minimum when cooking inside during storms.
Great hunting camp tent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2007

Outback lodge tent

By
Location: Richmond BC Canada
This is a superior product. Easy to erect, very wind resistant.
Snow will not stick to the surface so will not be knocked down by the first wet snowfalls.
The only poor thing about thes product are the tent pegs supplied with it. Fine for soft sand but unrealistic for real ground.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2007

Good Tent

By
Location: Wisconsin
I know people have complained about the zipper but its really the rainfly on the zipper that causes the hangup. I camped with this tent in Colorado this year and also survived several downpours in the mountains with this tent. No leaks and this tent stood up great.
Setup is super easy and fast. Zip open/close windows work super and I am glad the rainfly on the zipper was there. I would highly recommend this tent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2007

Great Family Tent

By
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Had the opportunity to upgrade my old 12 year old 4-man Outback Lodge Tent to a new 6-man for my family of 3 . . . simply a GREAT tent. Easy to put up. Easy to take down. Only issue . . . and it really is no big deal . . . is the zipper getting caught; but it hasn't ripped or gotten so bad to cause an issue. The tent is EXTREMELY well ventilated - no condensation inside at all. Almost a perfect tent - and for the price, you can't beat it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2007

Great hunting camp tent

By
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
This tent sets up VERY easily. Plenty of headroom and ample sleeping room for up to four hunters with gear. Repels rain well. Good value for the dollar. No problems with door zipper as mentioned in another review. Highly recommend floor liner and center pole hangers for lights, etc.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2007

outback lodge tent

By
Location: maine
I purchased this product for a moose hunt and was very pleased with it. It set up very easily and was very roomy. I would recommend this product to anyone . stores nicely in its own duffle bag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2007

Cabelas 12x12 Outback Lodge tent

By
Location: Alpena, Michigan
I just got back from an out West elk hunt and lived in this tent for 14 days. First the good reviews,... and then the not so good.
THE GOOD:
Easy to setup, withstood many damp raining days without any concerns noted. Held the heat very well as was provided by a big buddy heater using on most days the medium heat setting. There were not any issues with any monoxide build up and this WAS a main concern to me. Lots of room for one person and all my gear, 1/ 2x6 foot folding table, 2 small TV tables used as nightstands, 2/ 20 lb. propane tanks, 1/ multi propane tree for gas lantern. 3 large gear bags plus 2 smaller ones and a homemade clothes hanging rack that was 4ft. high and 4 ft. long to hang wet clothing on to dry out.
THE BAD:
There are only a couple of things that I can comment on that were negative in any way throughout my experience with this item.
1. The entry door zipper had a nasty tendency to hang up on the rain flap of the doorway when opening and closing almost always and it could really use an extended overhead rain-flap for the entry way
2. Large moisture pooling in all 4 corners of the tent,.. be sure to bring a towel along to sop-up the water before repacking at the end of your camp.
3. The advertisement for this tent says it sleeps 8 persons and I can't for the life of me see how they plan on doing that short of 4 bunk beds and no gear what so ever. If your intention of using this tent is for hunting then the most your going to squeeze in there would be 2 one man cots for sleeping and your essential hunting gear for the both of you and still remain comfortable for any extended amount of time.
Al in all it IS a good product, and can highly recommend it for a couple of people to go out hunting in for an extended amount of time without any real concerns of weather or product quality ruining your stay.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2007

Michigan Duck Hunt

By
It's the end of Oct.'07, 20 To 45 mph wind and of course rain.
We found the 12X12 tent went up easy in all the wind and rain for the two of us, aprox. 15 min. It was dry and warm with a Mr. Heater. More then enough room for all of our gear and then some. Taped a hvy duty hanger to the center pole to hang other hangers off of, worked very well. All in all a good tent for early season hunting other ten two issues:
1. The zipper gets stuck , try to get out at 2:00 am if you know what I mean.
2. A good addition would be a stove jack for a vented tent stove, wood or propane.
Light weight and very strong three season tent. If you camp during cold temps, think about an upgrade for a tent stove.
Good Luck
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2007

It kept the frost off at least

By
Location: Los Angeles, CA
The problems started with setup, it required 22 stakes and relies heavily on guy lines for it's support. Then the zipper is difficult to open or close do to the design of the door. We also had condensation problems even with the vents open. It did it's job and would be a great tent for kids or camping in places with ample soft ground for the stakes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2007

Outback Lodge 10x10

By
Location: Springfield area, Missouri
I ordered this tent a month ago to use as a horsepacking tent because it was 20 pounds lighter than the tent I had been using. I read all the reviews previously posted, so pretty much knew what I'd be getting.
My brother and I took a horsepack trip up to the Hercules Glades WA in south-central Missouri in late October for 5 days, and the first day out the forecast was for severe thunderstorms and possible tornados. We camped up on a ridge and made sure to use all the guylines and we anchored the tent well. Before we went to bed, we put the horses in an electric, battery-powered paddock.
A storm hit a little after midnight with little warning, just an immediate downpour, high winds, and lightning. We rushed outside and grabbed the horses to put them on a highline; we weren't sure they wouldn't spook and bolt out of the paddock.
At any rate, once back inside the tent, we waited for the storm to pass. I've camped in all kinds of weather in Missouri, Arkansas, Colorado, Wyoming, and Montana, and I'd estimate that the worst wind gusts of this storm were about 50 mph. Although the tent walls bowed in a little bit when high gusts hit the tent, the tent stood, all the guylines held, and except for the rain we brought in with us when we'd gone in and out to handle the horses, none of the storm-driven rain got in. None of the windows let any rain in. We'd used a towel to wipe up any rain we'd let in, so we would have known if the walls, corners, windows or floor had leaked.
I'm very satisfied with the quality of this tent. It was hard used those five days, keeping us and all our gear, including our tack, dry and out of the weather. The fabric is quality stuff, and the stakes are too, and heavy enough to take being pounded into Ozarks hilltop soil, which is always rocky. We opened a window or two at night when the weather was good and didn't experience any condensation problems inside. The only thing I'll change in subsequent trips will be to bring a small tarp along to use as a roof over the door opening since rain will get in if you use the door while it's raining. This is a quality product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2007

Lodge Tent

By
Location: Olympia, Washington
Excellent set up design, fast, positive hookups. Waterproofing excellent, sheds rain/snow efficiently. Zippers continually catch on tent fabric. Recommend enlarging zippers. Floor fabric too thin. Either install heavier fabric or offer a 12'X 12' heavy floor liner as an option. Cot legs, rocks, etc. can cut/tear the thin floor liner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2007

Excellent Tent

By
Location: Inverness, Florida
The Outback Lodge Tent was the best tent I have ever owned.
It was easy to put up, kept me warm and dry in the rainy, fall weather and was so easy to move around in, I would recommend it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Almost Perfect...ALMOST.

By
Location: Houma, LA
This is a great tent. I timed myself putting it up with my son the other day and it can be erected, from the carrying case, in ten minutes, which is remarkable for a 10' by 10' tent.
But--BUT--the zipper has a problem. If you erect the tent and stretch the front too taut, the entry zipper will give you all kinds of trouble. The stakes will take a bit of adjusting, in and out, on the frontside before the zipper works smoothly. Also, for about three feet down the right side, the entry zipper is covered by two flaps at once, which can snag in the zipper.
Long story short: BE CAREFUL WITH THE ENTRY ZIPPER. Don't just shoot it up and shoot it down, or you'll end up with a stuck and ruined door.
Cabela's would do well to consider re-designing the front entry zipper and making it a t-shaped door and not the half-moon.
Other than that, the tent is fantastic. The center height is a godsend, as I am six-foot six. I can stand up! Also, the ventilation system works well; as the tent heats up under the sun, warm air is drawn out the top creating a draft from the low-to-the-ground vents. Really! It works! That's a big benefit of the tent's tall height.
The center pole is nice and solid and the windows are a great size.
So I give it four stars, but warn those who buy it to be careful of the door. I can see an impatient person ending up stuck inside or outside the tent or, even worse, with the inability to close the tent at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Cabela'sBy James DurfeeCamping & TravelApril 18, 2013
The front door zipper issue has been addressed. A new door design is in place and is represented in the current item image.
Thank you for your review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Outback Lodge Tent – 12' x 12'
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2008

winter camping

By
it did a good job on my winter camp out
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 61-80 of 315